disappear here

May 29, 2007

demolition in helsinki

Filed under: Dance, Electromagnetic, Muzak, Reverse — thatguyfromla @ 8:00 pm

null

As much as I hate saying this, Architecture in Helsinki has gone too experimental, and too overboard with their new LP, Places Like This. In my opinion they hit the highest they could go with artsy noise pop that still sounded cool on In Case We Die, which was a excellent album, but on this one, they take it too many steps too far. Unnecessary synthesized deep voices, random arrangements that don’t clash well at all, short track list, ect. (It’s really just so 80s pop, and not in a good way). Now now, this is all upon first listen, and I am praying that some tracks can be salvaged from this first impression and be put together to give me a better understanding of what’s all going on. I do enjoy some of the songs so far somewhat, so I may be overreacting right now. But I’m sorry, I just love this group so much I feel like I’m hyperventilating (Fingers Crossed).

MP3s

Architecture in Helsinki- Debbie
Architecture in Helsinki- Underwater

(p.s. Good News, I am enjoying another song more! So stock is rising, but still, I am not completely regretting this post)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

