disappear here

June 25, 2007

back to the basics: John from Cinci Edition

After Sopranos ended, I spaced, brain farted if you must, and forgot about my weekly reviews of the Sunday Nights in the world of HBO. I especially forgot to mention my immense excitement for the show John From Cincinatti, so now, I will cover the first 3 episodes of that, and the first two of the new season of Entourage.

null

John from Cincinnati: First off, I realized I’ve been spelling Cincinnati wrong this whole time, my whole life. But anyways, I may be one in a dime here, but I love this show. From the first episode to the third I have been intrigued and enthralled. Everything about it attacks me and entertains me to to a point of submission. Ed O’Neal in particular rocks what needs to be rocked. Paranormal questioning, surfing, the beach, mysterious stranger, drug addict, Luis Guzman, levitation, family, birds, vintage, these are just some of the things that get me. The show’s calm but urgent activity is also a very interesting technique of television, it somehow makes everything go by so fast, producing thoughts of wonder and creativity and excitement for the scenes for next week. Last night was excellent in particular, the doctor was a favorite character of mine, as well as the softening side of Freddie and his messenger. Kai’s revelation was a remarkable scene, the foggy lens following a knee injury and a shootup by Butchie. And the final shot of the vert half pipe was impressive. A solid HBO program, be on the lookout.

And here’s the theme song that I just cannot get enough of.
mp3: Joe Strummer & the Mescaleros- Johnny Appleseed

Entourage: Last nights episode was a decent one. All parts were funny, even turtle, and all parts delivered sufficient performances. The only problem is my worry with the movie, and whether Eric’s right (it sucks), or Vince is right (it doesn’t), what even excited me more is the fact in the preview for next week Eric mentions it was entered in Cannes, I am interested to see how that turns out. The season premiere on the other hand was great. Hilarious, great plot line, great technique with the documentary film crew, great ending, great previews into Medellin. The season looks like it may be better than the third, I can only hope.

2 Comments »

  1. i thought it is only a continuation of the 3rd season? part ii, if i’m not mistaken

    Comment by amerika — July 10, 2007 @ 4:42 am

  2. It was for the beginning I believe, then they took like a one week break and it turned into the fourth season. It was kinda wierd, I must say.

    Comment by thatguyfromla — July 16, 2007 @ 2:07 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

