disappear here

August 8, 2007

The Beach Was Good and All

Filed under: Electromagnetic, HBO, Muzak, Oldness, Party All The Time, Stuff Inside the Body, TV Tube — thatguyfromla @ 3:16 pm

But I missed my connection to the world of muzak, film, and HBO. Missed it a lot. Although I did catch a showing of the Simpsons movie due to an unpredicted rainy Tuesday, and I must say I would recommend seeing it for a laugh with a familiar and comfortable viewing oppurtunity. So I checked my mail, e-mail, fellow sites of promotion, and sadly found not that much to talk about. Though some of the things I stumbled onto during my vacation that are not technically new, really sprang back into my mind for posting what sounds good.

First off, was the power, soul, emphasis, and the amazing vibe produced from the strength of their beliefs of Rage Against the Machine. Listening to Battle of Los Angeles for probably the first time in several years brought me back into the world of head bobbing and spiritual madness, all in good ways. The explosive nature in which they present their political ideals and so on and so on is not even bothering to someone who would disagree in my opinion, because they are so heavy and positive about these beliefs, they really do hammer that part down. My favorite part of this band, besides Tom Morello’s shredding, has to be the various genres their music can fall into, and not through different songs, you can categorize any one of their songs into several categories itself. At one point, it could be deep funk, at another, raging punk, and at the same time political hip-hop. RATM is a band that will remain ageless and original, I do not believe any effort will ever be as strong and successful as RATM’s. And due to that appearence at Coachella 2007, my hopes have sky rocketed for a reunion and possibly a new disc for us to all go crazy to with our headphones blaring and a new disc to keep us running instead of walking on that morning jog. Pray for the rage to come back.

MP3: Rage Against the Machine- Guerilla Radio
MP3: Rage Against the Machine- I’m Housin’

Second comes to a relatively “in” band in the jam-band circuit. The Benevento/Russo Duo is Marco Benevento and Joe Russo, two people making music that sounds like it’s being produced by an orchestra. The thing about this band, is their not your typical All Good Festival preformers, these guys go into depth with Indie rock but even take breaths of jazz. Within every track you can sense the energy and the diversity that is simply sprawling at the lid of the sound. When you sample these tunes, I am confident you will come to the realization that something extroadinary is happening when two people are creating everything that will be surrounding you, every itch, every noise, every feeling, every sense. The power and magic of music is seen at its best through bands like this one. So I threw in some live tunes to try to convey the absolute peak of this band’s skills and work.

MP3: The Benevento/Russo Duo- Sunny’s Song (Live)
MP3: The Benevento/Russo Duo- Echo Park (Live)

H B O round->up

John From Cincinnati: All I can really say is that I feel it’s all starting to come together. Solely from viewing episode ten, there is a sense that something is building up. What seems to be the frame for an arena of some sort seems to be the most important element at this time of the show. Mitch’s chemist stared at it curiously and many times it shows John viewing it, and then looking behind him. I was not blessed with the oppurtunity to view scenes from next week because my viewing was delayed to OnDemand, so I am thinking about writing a strongly worded letter to HBO to have that included on the OnDemand showing, and that leads to the result that I have no idea what could happen next week. Leave’s it up in the air, which is somewhat interesting.

Entourage: So-so, I love Gary Busey in the show and it brings back the feeling of the old Entourage days. What I did really like about the episode, is the keeping off path of everything annoying and businesslike (or atleast just taking a break), Ari was hysterical with the twins, E was a little annoying, the rest didn’t really do much. It was a slow moving episode but it passed, again, I did not see the scenes from next week, so I have about zero clue on what to expect. Could be the end of the world, I wouldn’t know.

Flight of the Conchords: I’ll say it again, Jermaine Clement is frucking hilarious. Every movement and line he has is delivered with such a nonchalant tone and when it is mixed with his facial features I cannot help but burst into laughter. Bret was very funny as well, I couldn’t stop laughing whenever he would mention something being like Top Gun and Jermaine putting him down. Murray was also funny again like always. Song-wise, I liked the French song, I didn’t love it, but I liked it. I did not like the second song however, it did not really catch me like other’s from the past have. Besides that, keep up the good work boys, you can’t really do wrong in my book at this point.

2 Comments »

  1. […] I may have given up on John From Cincinnati but the truly courageous suffer on. […]

    Pingback by Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Sitting Here Listening to This Recording — August 12, 2007 @ 6:44 pm

  2. no your right, I was believing it would be wrapped up in a little pretty box for everyone to understand on the final episode of the season (if that), but it was the complete oppisite. I believe I have given up as well. Ed O’Neil was great though.

    Comment by thatguyfromla — August 13, 2007 @ 2:57 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

