disappear here

August 31, 2007

Top 10 of August

Monthly roundup time, and you can really tell it’s been a hell of a month if there is 10 top songs when my aimed goal was about 5 or 6. Now remember, these songs aren’t only from the material that has come out in this month, but from the bundles of leaks* that hit the clean cut internet in this jam packed month.

*Now remember remember, buy the album!

10. The Weakerthans- Tournament of Hearts

This entire album was glory translated through headphones. Lyrical masterminds at their finest work with catchy riffs and so forth. Do not pass the oppurtunity up to hear this masterful collection.

9. Josh Ritter- The Temptation of Adam

One of the best folk tales through song I have heard all year. Ritter has crafted his talent into something prime and clean-cut, something that calmy jumps out and pulls you in. This is a song I wish I could make a music video for.

8. Rilo Kiley- Breakin’ Up

There were aspects of this album I absolutely loved, and some not so much. AS for this track. It was love the second the needle spun into this territory on the vinyl. It begins like it’s the soundtrack to Magnolia or some other P.T. Anderson work, and shifts into this mix of disco and indie alt pop, and when Jenny Lewis just rolls and flows the entire time it’s almost impossible to create a complaint.

7. Rogue Wave- Chicago X 12

This band continues to get better and better, this entire album was a show for that. For this track, you can feel the moments that you know it’s a tune you wanna pull into a snowy driveway to, when the acoustic guitar first kicks in. Or when Rogue quietly states the lyrics: “You never knew how hard I tried,” simply astounding.

6. Kanye West feat. Chris Martin- Homecoming

Great beat. Great rap. Chris Martin. Favorite lyric: “She said ‘Ye keep making that, keep making that platinum and gold for me.”

5. Beirut- The Penalty

An album I have not touched on yet, but probably, one of the sweetest, most beautiful acoustic songs of the year. His shuddering voice shouts a quiet anthem that will really be hard to get out of my head.

4. The Most Serene Republic- The Men Who Live Upstairs

Another album I ahve not touched on yet. This band may be the group making the best muzak right now. Everything is pitch perfect, it’s like they know exactly where I want the song to go, exactly what will make my jaw drop in awe, and exactly what will make me shake my head furiously to keep along with the beat and guitar of the raving hit. I’m not 100% sure at the time, but so far, in 2007, this would most likely be my pick for album of year.

3. Radiohead- Arpeggi

It’s fucking Radiohead? No, but seriously, this song is really quite beautiful. You have to admit. Even if it wasn’t Radiohead this song would still be right here.

2. Animal Collective- Derek

Probably my most anticipated vinyl purchase. This entire album is great. Really pitch perfect, and I’m even feeling a rival on Feels. Cannot wait for the news on the dealio with them new live tracks. P.S. Probably my number 2 album of ’07, it still is a battle though.

1. Band of Horses- Is There a Ghost

I cannot get this song out of my head. I love it. I love this song, I love the direction it seems this album will be going in. I love the album cover. This song as made this band explode into my top 5 favorite groups. Everything, the shouts of the vocals, the echoing guitar (both soft and heavy), and the eery feeling that accompanies the album cover. (each CD cover for these guys seems to match the mood of the album, it’s really something great, I’ve never seen anything like it before.)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

