disappear here

November 1, 2007

Inch x Inch

I’m not really sure how to make up for all the time I missed, so I’m just gonna lay out a bunch of the bands I’ve been listening to and loving, and some other cool stuff that’s been happening.

First off comes something I touched on emphatically yesterday, the I’m Not There Original Soundtrack. Upon getting it I rushed to the Sufjan track, and loved it. Then after listening to the entire two disc album, I realized how consistent and proper a cover soundtrack it was. The entire thing is a really great collaboration of today’s big names covering Dylan in unique ways. A very fun listen and it includes some rather captivating gems.

-> Jeff Tweedy- Simple Twist of Fate [mp3]
-> Glen Hansard and Markéta Irglová- You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere [mp3]
-> Mason Jennings- The Times They Are A-Changin’ [mp3]

Buy here.

Next up is a band who has a very unique sound. They can clutter together these ruccous sounds and mash everything into one beautiful outcome. They are a great new band coming out of Nashville, Tennessee and have a very promising sound that should carry them alone. Lately I have been looking for a band with a jingle like these guys have so finally hearing them was definitely a relief in some way. Be sure to be on the lookout for whatever these guys keep putting out because everything so far has caught my ear with a great pleasant ring.

-> Canon Blue- Sea Monsters [mp3]

Buy here.

I began listening to The Speakers after hearing about the band I will be talking about next. This was the original project between these guys and I literally swear to loving every song on this album. Each track has this hushed acoustic pop sound of its own, making the album diverse when listened to thouroughly, but a grand masterpiece when listened to as a whole. A great lo-fi, calm indie outfit who put together a great record. Check it out.

-> The Speakers- A Cradle Song [mp3]
-> The Speakers- An Irish Airman Foresees His Death [mp3] (**DH** Highly Recommended)

Buy here.

One half of The Speakers: San Francisco native, Brian Miller = The Lightning Bug Situation. His quiet but powerful voice carries each track to beyond the simplistic and pretty acoustic guitar arrangements, melding everything together into a sort of warping experience. Every track on the new album, A Leaf; A Stream is packed with raw emotion and hushed divinity. Quite the album to listen to on a rainy day.

-> The Lightning Bug Situation- The New Dad [mp3]

Buy here.

That’s enough writeups, here’s some straight up em pee threes for your enjoyment.

(Can anyone else tell me why I’m mesmerized with the new Killers song? It’s so creepy and eery and not-Killeresque, but I still have so much love for it. Cheers guys, good going. I’ve always loved the Killers)
-> The Killers- Tranquilize (feat. Lou Reed) [mp3]

-> Say Hi- We Lost the Albatross [mp3]
-> Vampire Weekend- M 79 (Daytrotter Session) [mp3]
-> The Snake The Cross The Crown- The Great American Smokeout [mp3]
-> The Carribean- Stockhausen Serves Imperialism [mp3]

(I cannot get this other Nashville native band out of my head, Imaginary Baseball League)
-> Imaginary Baseball League- Gambling [mp3]
-> Imaginary Baseball League- Steeple to Steeple [mp3]

->Rihanna feat. Ne-Yo- Hate That I Love You So [mp3]
(I hate that I love this song so!)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

