disappear here

January 20, 2008

the top 44 albums of 2 thousand 7 (12-9)

Image Hosting

Whoop whoop we broke into the single digits, and I already am seeing myself leave very emotional and sappy captions for each of the albums, I tell ya, you could read number 9 on this post and believe it to be my favorite album of all time, but to tell the truth, the albums from this point on could never really be put in any strict position without somesort of asterisk at the end of it. Needless to say, all these albums are great and spectacular and wonderful and, yeah. Here ya are for today.

12. jay-z : american gangster
Image Hosting

I’ll have to say I had my doubts about the future of Jay-Z since his release The Black Album, which was splendid, when he claimed that he would be retiring. I’ll have to say the skepticism level rose dramatically with his in-retirement release of Kingdom Come, so when I heard that hova was so-inspired by a screening of the recent blockbuster, American Gangster, that he was making his own hip-hop soundtrack and second in-retirement LP, let’s just say I was just about pessimistic. As the opening simple popping beats of the first album single ”Blue Magic”, I was more than emphatic, I was practically shining. The entire album proves the triumph of Jay-Z, and is just another additive to his high position in the hip hop universe. *SONG OF THE ALBUM*: “Hello Brooklyn 2.0”.

M P 3s
JAY-Z feat. LIL WAYNE- HELLO BROOKLYN 2.0 [MP3]
JAY-Z- PARTY LIFE [MP3]

buy american gangster here.

11. spoon : ga ga ga ga ga
Image Hosting

I just don’t think anyone with a decent taste in music can resist that wonderful distinct sound that comes along with every Spoon song, the strangely congested seeming vocals of Britt Daniels, and the groovy guitar hooks. With every single one of their albums, Spoon has built a reputation to be a band that doesn’t let down with any release. This one is even more exceptional than its predecessors. *SONG OF THE ALBUM*: “You Got Yr. Cherry Bomb”.

M P 3s
SPOON- DON’T YOU EVAH [MP3]
SPOON- FINER FEELINGS [MP3]
SPOON- BLACK LIKE ME [MP3]

buy ga ga ga ga ga here.

10. modest mouse : we were dead before the ship even sank
Image Hosting

This album takes on so many forms and presents itself with a great deal of tracks, leading to a great amount of material, both quantity wise and quality wise. I was so excited to first hear this album that I took each track in one by one, basking in each song’s unique style until it had fully soaked and I had completely comprehended its purpose. Because of this patience that I usually can’t sustain, the experience of this album was vast but completely wonderful, and some of the tracks stuck on my iTunes playlist for more than half the year. This album contains several rock ballads that would land high on a list of my favorite tracks of the year. This was also a very sentimental album for me because of my visit to a very interesting concert where they performed most of the songs, a great show with 2 very excellent sets. Overall this was a very cool year for the band. *SONG OF THE ALBUM*: “Fire It Up”.

M P 3s
MODEST MOUSE- FIRE IT UP [MP3]
MODEST MOUSE- FLY TRAPPED IN A JAR [MP3]
MODEST MOUSE- LITTLE MOTEL [MP3]

buy we were dead before the ship even sank here.

9. arcade fire : neon bible
Image Hosting

I find it hard to write a review for Neon Bible, simply because of the profound effect this band has had on me, with this album in particular. For myself, Neon Bible was more of an experience than it was just an album. Each track bellows emotion and opens a gate into an unknown world of beauty and fear. The entire album concludes after a soft ballad that whispers hushes for a sad future, the title track,

“Vial of hope and a vial of pain. In the light they both looked the same. Poured them out on into the world, on every boy and every girl singing it’s the Neon Bible, the Neon Bible. Not much chance for survival if the Neon Bible is right”

and a triumphant symphonic string build up, “Intervention”, comes possibly one of the more powerful songs I have ever heard in my dear life. It’s a wonderful time, for any state of emotion you may be in, so please, I urge you to take the time to listen to this record. *SONG OF THE ALBUM*: “Intervention”.

M P 3s
ARCADE FIRE- NEON BIBLE [MP3]
ARCADE FIRE- MY BODY IS A CAGE [MP3]

buy neon bible here.

the top 44 albums of 2 thousand 7 part i (44-41)
the top 44 albums of 2 thousand 7 part ii (40-37)
the top 44 albums of 2 thousand 7 part iii (36-33)
the top 44 albums of 2 thousand 7 part iv (32-29)
the top 44 albums of 2 thousand 7 part v (28-25)
the top 44 albums of 2 thousand 7 part vi (24-21)
the top 44 albums of 2 thousand 7 part vii (20-17)
the top 44 albums of 2 thousand 7 part viii (16-13)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

