disappear here

March 20, 2008

NEW: Death Cab for Cutie [Jam] – I Will Possess Your Heart…but wait, There’s more!

So first I’ll lay you out with this kind of epic Death Cab track from their upcoming “let-loose” LP: Narrow Stairs. My initial opinion of this 8 minute and plus jam is purrty indifferent. The build up is a little cool but not f**king cool, and the last four minutes when Gibbard enters stage is melodic and interesting but nothing explosive. It’s definitely a boil that’ll grow on me in time like most of the group’s songs, but as of now I’m not certain of its place in my catalogue of cab.

M P 3 -> Death Cab For Cutie – I Will Possess Your Heart [ mp3 ].

Now. The more part. I got 3 new releases [some still upcoming ac-tually], 2 of them electronic masterpieces and the other 1 being the newest from one of the most prolific acoustic artists of our ages. If I were talking actual band names, it would go a little something like this: M83, Cut Copy,and Sun Kil Moon.

Lucky Magic Number 1

M83 explodes back on the scene with a release glowing of some sort of 80s critique and hush diaries of a 15 year old girl. Anthony Gonzalez pretty much kept everyone in the indie [elektronika] realm on the edge of their seats with the brilliant Before the Dawn Heals Us, and now he returns with a new sound that compliments his dark beat driven mood rock like a charm. I’ll let you loose on the upcoming Saturdays = Youth‘s first single, “Graveyard Girl” and one that really caught my ear upon first listen. I’m still studying the album as a whole, so as of now I can’t describe what its doing for me exactly. It’s quite nice though.

M P 3s
-> M 83 – Graveyard Girl [ mp3 ]
-> M 83 – Kim & Jessie [ mp3 ]

Lucky Magic Number 2

Cut Copy has found a way to make me fall deeply in love with their style and sound within a week. If you want to know the truth, this is my favorite electronic release of the year. The album doesn’t succumb to the normal guidelines of contemporary elektronika. The boundries are bent and twisted to fit the way this group wants to sound. Good. Perfect, I mean. ch-ch-check.

M P 3s
-> Cut Copy – Feel the Love [ mp3 ] (**DH** Highly Rec’d)
-> Cut Copy – Strangers In the Wind [ mp3 ] (**DH** Highly Rec’d)

Lucky Magic Number 3

april.jpg

This effort doesn’t surprise me at all. Mark Kozelek is just the person for the job to create an abundancy of amazing soft folk rock for a decade and still sound incredible. He doesn’t try to change his style or sound, he never frays from the garage feel of his instruments and the faded, almost echoing vocals. Besides all that, the album is amazing as well.

M P 3s
-> Sun Kil Moon – Moorestown [ mp3 ]
-> Sun Kil Moon – Tonight In Bilbao [ mp3 ]

Well that’s it for today. Hoped you were fond of some of the mat. Cheers.

pre-order that shizz ~HERE and HERE and HERE and HERE

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

